Greta goes for Bundespreis Ecodesign

Today Greta Edgar is going to the Kunstgewerbemuseum Berlin. Our vegan dog food Greta enters the competition for the German Ecodesign Award in the category of Junior Projects. On September 11, 2017, the jury will meet to select the winners from a total of 129 entries in the categories Product (55 entries), Services (18 entries), Concepts (15 entries) and Junior Projects (41 entries).

How does Greta fit in?

It starts with the packaging: The outer cover consists of recycled paper, which is partially printed with water-based inks. Inside, a PE bag is fastened with adhesive. No composite material is used. The bag can be recycled via Interseroh. As a result, it participates in a circulation system. If it is not recycled via Interseroh, the plastic bag can be separated from the outer paper cover very easily, as they only stick together at a few points. Now both parts can be disposed of separately or reused. The fancy paper bag can be used as gift packaging, to wrap school books, to make a sample box for Greta Mini, or whatever else you can think of. The inner plastic bag can be used as a garbage bag for the household garbage and thus saves a garbage bag.

Not only the packaging is environmentally friendly. The production of the ingredients requires significantly less energy and resource consumption (water, land) than animal ingredients used in conventional dog food.

It was particularly important to me to provide all information about the food in an easily recognisable way. Therefore, when designing the packaging, I paid special attention to making all the information available and making it easy to understand and aesthetically appealing. For example, all additives are indicated on the packaging – even though it is neither a legal obligation nor common practice in the industry. We want you to know what you are feeding your dog. So you can easily build your own opinion. The info graphic shows you which food components serve which function for your dog’s health. Furthermore, I have listed the native contents of three non-added trace elements. With this transparency you have all information at your hand to build your own opinion. Almost as important: The packaging is also pretty to look at and creates a good atmosphere at home.

Update December 2017: This information applies to our 5kg Greta sack. The 2kg bag currently does not have a PE inner bag.

Greta and all other participants’ contributions can be viewed by interested parties at the Kunstgewerbemuseum on 12 and 13 September 2017. Here are the key dates:

When
Tuesday, 12 September 2017, 12 am – 6 pm
Wednesday, 13 September 2017, 10 am – 6 pm

Where
Kunstgewerbemuseum Berlin
special exhibition area
Matthäikirchplatz, 10785 Berlin, Germany

How much
8 Euro or 4 Euro reduced

And now Greta Go for Federal Ecodesign Award.

Animals Say Yeah!

Leni Lecker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Greta goes for Bundespreis Ecodesign

Heute geht es für Greta Edgar ins Kunstgewerbemuseum Berlin. Unser veganes Hundefutter Greta geht ins Rennen um den Bundespreis Ecodesign in der Kategorie Nachwuchs. Am 11. September 2017 kommt die Jury zusammen, um aus den insgesamt 129 Beiträgen in den Kategorien Produkt (55 Beiträge), Services (18 Beiträge), Konzepte (15 Beiträge ) und Nachwuchsprojekte (41 Beiträge) die Gewinner auszusuchen.

Wie passt Greta da rein?

Es fängt schon bei der Verpackung an: Die Außenhülle besteht aus recyceltem Papier, welches mit wasserbasierten Farben teilweise bedruckt ist. Innen ist ein PE Sack punktuell mit Klebstoff befestigt. Die Tüte kann über Interseroh recycelt werden. Dadurch nimmt sie an einem Kreislaufsystem teil. Sollte sie nicht über Interseroh recycelt werden, können Plastiksack und Papieraußenhülle sehr leicht voneinander getrennt werden, da sie nur an wenigen Punkten zusammenkleben. Nun können beide Teile getrennt voneinander entsorgt oder wiederverwendet werden. Der schicke Papiersack eignet sich z.B. als Geschenkverpackung, zum Schulbücher einschlagen, um eine Probenbox für Greta Mini zu basteln ?, oder was einem sonst noch so einfällt. Der Plastikinnensack kann als Mülltüte für den Haushaltsmüll weiterverwendet werden und spart dadurch eine Mülltüte ein.

Nicht nur die Verpackung ist umweltfreundlich. Bei der Herstellung der Zutaten ist ein bedeutend geringerer Energieaufwand und Ressourcenverbrauch (Wasser, Fläche) notwendig als bei tierischen Bestandteilen, wie sie in konventionellen Hundefuttern verwendet werden.

Mir war es besonders wichtig, alle Informationen über das Futter leicht erkennbar zu machen. Deshalb habe ich beim Verpackungsdesign besonders darauf geachtet, alle Informationen zur Verfügung zu stellen und diese leicht verständlich in ästhetischer Form aufzubereiten. Es sind z.B. alle Zusatzstoffe auf der Verpackung angegeben – und das, obwohl es weder gesetzliche Pflicht, noch in der Branche üblich ist. Wir wollen, dass du weißt, was du deinem Hund fütterst. So kannst du dir leicht eine eigene Meinung bilden. Die Infografik zeigt dir, welche Futterbestandteile welche Funktion für die Gesundheit deines Hundes haben. Des weiteren habe ich die nativen Gehalte von drei nicht zugesetzten Spurenelementen aufgeführt. Mit dieser Transparenz hast du alle Informationen zur Verfügung um dir selbst deine Meinung zu bilden. Fast genauso wichtig: Die Verpackung ist obendrein noch hübsch anzusehen und schafft gute Stimmung zu Hause.

Update Dezember 2017: Die Angaben gelten für unseren 5kg Sack Greta. Beim 2kg Sack ist aktuell kein PE Innensack

Greta und alle anderen Teilnehmerbeiträge können am 12. und 13. September 2017 im Kunstgewerbemuseum von Interessierten angeschaut werden. Hier die Eckdaten:

Wann
Dienstag, den 12. September 2017, 12–­18 Uhr
Mittwoch, den 13. September 2017, 10–18 Uhr

Wo
Kunstgewerbemuseum Berlin
Sonderausstellungsbereich
Matthäikirchplatz, 10785 Berlin

Wieviel
8 Euro bzw. 4 Euro ermäßigt

Und jetzt Greta Go for Bundespreis Ecodesign.

Animals Say Yeah!

Leni Lecker

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.